Online Reservations

  •  /每间

Home > Carefree travel in Suzhou

Carefree travel in Suzhou

Nowadays a lot of people call Suzhou's city center full imprints of 2500 years history "Old Suzhou"; they call the western new part which is bustling with modernization "New Suzhou"; the eastern new part which reflects Singapore and which is the birthplace of modern industry is called "Foreign Suzhou" and the area all around Lake Tai where 'boats open the vast lake and tiny islands emerge everywhere' is called "Scenic Suzhou". When you interpret "Old Suzhou", "New Suzhou", "Foreign Suzhou" and "Scenic Suzhou" from a cultural, modern and natural point of view, you find a mixture of old and new; Chinese and Western where individual charms are endlessly intertwined.

Cultural Suzhou

Suzhou has innumerable cultural elements. For example the touching, beautiful Kunqu Opera. A performance of Kunqu Opera has an elegant melody, soft and unrestrained in the distance. In May 2001 UNESCO gave it the title of "Oral and intangible world heritage". Other examples of historical cultural heritage are Suzhou embroidery and Pingtan story telling and ballad singing.

Poetic Jiangnan, how are you going to leave the bridges, flowing waters, the people? Whether it is the Suzhou classical gardens with their far-reaching intentions in creative concepts of craftsmen that make you gasp in admiration, or the small towns which make your body and mind free to return to your true self, all will let you experience the sophistication and elegance of Suzhou. One of the important features of the classical gardens of Suzhou is that they are not only a product of historical culture, but also the carrier of Chinese traditional ideology.

Suzhou always had the tradition to esteem teaching and literacy highly. It is the hometown of famous top scorers in the imperial palace examination. With 50 scholars who obtained the highest rank of the imperial examination system Suzhou has the most of whole China. From 1500 successful candidates, 10 mansions still exist. The virtuous people in the Wu area are too numerous to mention individually. The "Surging Waves Pavillion" has a temple with the names of 500 virtuous persons of which the most famous are: Wu Zixu, statesman in the Spring and Autumn Period; military expert Sun Wu; Xiang Yu the Conqueror, Chu warlord; beautiful empress of the Han dynasty Zhao Feiyan; Lu Guimeng, Tang dynasty poet; Song dynasty statesman/writer Fan Zhongyan and writer Fan Chengda; Ming dynasty painters Shen Zhou, Tang Bohu, Wen Zhengming and Qiu Ying, statesman Kuang Zhong, writer feng Menglong; Kuai Xiang, architect of the Ming Dynasty Forbidden City; late Ming-early Qing thinker Gu Yanwu, garden designer Ji Cheng, Ge Yuliang, expert in stone layers; Qing emperor Wen Tonghe, diplomat Hong Jun; Early Modern Period politician Liu Yazi, masters of the classics Zhang Taiyan, historian Gu Xiegang, writer and editor Ye Shengtao, embroidery master Shen Shou; Modern Times writer Su Tong; et al.

Suzhou is the birthplace of the Wu culture. Tradition has it that in the final years of the prehistoric Shang dynasty Zhoujun Gugong had three sons: the eldest Tai Bo, the second Zhong Yong and the youngest Ji Li. Ji Li had a son named Chang. Gugong believed Chang had the ability to become king and he wanted to pass the royal title on to Ji Li and to Chang. When Tai Bo and Zhong Yong found out about this intention, they avoided the royal title and emigrated to, at that time Jing barbarian, Jiangnan to honor their father's desire. They even followed the local customs and voluntary 'cut their hair and put tattoos' to express they became one of the Jing barbarians. And so they could not return to succeed to the throne. Their righteous deeds together with the Zhou culture and the advanced farming techniques they brought gave them the support of the inhabitants. Tai Bo was established as leader at Meili and he named his dynasty "Wu".

Tai Bo had 19 successors until Shou Meng succeeded to the throne in 585BC, since then Wu state has an exact dating. In the wake of the rise of Wu state, the capital city Meili could not keep up with the needs of the developing state while there was also Suzhou at the northeast shore of Lake Tai. Thanks to superior natural conditions, convenient transport, fertile soil, plentiful products and numerous population, Shou Meng officially moved the capital city to Suzhou in 561BC. Many years of business went by and it became a considerable scope. But because historical records did not record it, that townsite is not researchable. Henceforth Suzhou of that time is called Wu state.

In 514BC king He Lu of Wu ordered Wu Zixu to build a city with a double chessboard pattern of water and land. Since then Suzhou got its present geographical location. In 522BC Qin Shihuang set up an inspection at the capital city of Wu for the region. Since then Suzhou was called Wu county or sometimes Wu state. In 589AD the Sui dynasty changed the name of Wu county into Suzhou. (West of the city walls there was a mountain called Su mountain where Suzhou got its name from)

Gardens: the Humble Administrator's Garden、Lion's Garden、the Lingering Garden、the Surging Waves Pavillion、Huqiu district.

Old Streets: Pingjiang Road、QilishanTang Road

Old Towns: Zhouzhuang old town、Tongli old town、Mudu old town、LuZhi old town

Others: HanShan temple、Suzhou amusement park、Lake Tai wetland park、Suzhou ancient canals

Modern Suzhou

Suzhou Industrial Park and Suzhou New Area are the best examples of modern Suzhou. They went through tens of years of development and the appearance changed daily to look completely new. Whether during the day or during the night, there will always appear some modernization, which is in strong contrast with the Old Town. It seems like you go from one city to another, from one era to another. This is perhaps a unique experience in Suzhou!

Jinji Lake scenic area: fascinating Jinji lake、spectacular music fountain and magical water screen movies、Ferris wheel park

Business centers: LiGongdi international street、around Times Square、GuanQian street、Shi Road commercial center、Moonlight dock.

Scenic Suzhou

"The landscape of Lake Tai is beautiful, especially in Wuzhong". Lake Tai has 72 peaks of which 58 are in Wuzhong district. The State Council established 13 Lake Tai scenic areas with 6 in Wuzhong. Thus Wuzhong embraces two thirds of the numerous sceneries of the Lake Tai waters and shores. Because the sea and land changes in early periods, within Wuzhong there is a dense water network of rivers, streams and lakes.

The mountains of Lake Tai are not high, but the mountain ranges are extensive. Qionlong mountain, Shigong mountain, Lingyan mountain, Tianping mountain, Yuyang mountain, Yaofeng mountain, Wang mountain and others are not only landscape for the city but also a protective screen. At the same time the lake area is turning into the best "natural forest oxygen bar".

Lake Tai: Lake Tai Ferris Wheel、Lake Tai Park、Lake Tai Bridge

Xishan scenic area: Jinting island、Piaomiao peak、Linwu mountian、Shigong mountain、Moonlight Bay.

Dongshan scenic area: Carved buildings、Luxiang old village、Place of Yuhua victory、Qi Garden

Guangfu scenic area: Guangfu Xiangxuehai scenic area、Situ temple、Tong Guanyin temple

Qionlong mountain scenic area

在线预订

  •  /每间

主页 > 畅游苏州

畅游苏州

如今,很多人把苏州城区那个充满了2500年历史文印痕的古城称做"老苏州";把西部那个繁华的现代化新城叫做"新苏州",把东部那个借鉴了新加坡经验而诞生的现代工业新城叫做"洋苏州";把围绕着"万顷湖光一棹开、东西浮出小蓬莱"的太湖山水蕴育而成的地方叫做"山水苏州"。"老苏州"、"新苏州"、"洋苏州"、"山水苏州"从人文、现代、自然的角度诠释着融合了古与今、中与西的完美对接中所散发出无穷的个性魅力。

人文苏州

苏州的人文不胜枚举。比如缠绵美丽的昆曲,昆剧行腔优美,以缠绵婉转、柔漫悠远见长。2001年5月18日被联合国教科文组织命名为"人类口述遗产和非物质遗产代表作"称号。再比如历史文化遗产苏绣、评弹。

诗意江南,又怎么能离得开小桥,流水,人家呢?无论是令人赞叹意境深远匠心独运的苏州古典园林,还是让人畅怀身心返璞归真的苏州灵秀小镇,都让人能感受到苏州的精致与典雅。苏州古典园林的重要特色之一,是它不仅是历史文化的产物,同时也是中国传统思想文化的载体。

苏州向来具有崇教尚文的文化传统,是著名的状元之乡,历史上曾出过50名状元,在中国是出状元最多的城市。1500多名进士,现存的状元府第有10座。吴地名贤,不胜枚举。沧浪亭内有"五百名贤祠",著名的代表人物有:春秋时期的政治家伍子胥、军事家孙武;楚霸王项羽;汉宫皇后绝代美女赵飞燕;唐代诗人陆龟蒙;宋代政治家、文学家范仲淹及文学家范成大;明代画家沈周、唐伯虎、文征明、仇英,政治家况钟,文学家冯梦龙,建筑家、明故宫设计者蒯祥;明末清初思想家顾炎武,造园大师计成,叠石专家戈裕良,清代帝师翁同和,外交家洪钧;近代民主人士柳亚子,经学大师章太炎,史学家顾颉刚,文学家和教育家叶圣陶,刺绣大师沈寿,现代文学家和作家苏童等。

苏州,是吴文化的发源地,相传商代末年,周君古公亶父有三个儿子:长子泰伯,次子仲雍和幼子季历。季历有子昌,古公亶父认为昌有兴王业的才能,想把君位传给季历再传于昌。泰伯、仲雍了解了这一意图后,为尊重父意,避让君位而逃避到当时被称为荆蛮之地的江南。并随乡入俗,自行"断发文身"。表示他们已是荆蛮之人,而不能再回去继位了。他们的这一义行,以及他们带来的周族先进的文化和农业生产技术,受到了当地居民的拥护,在梅里泰伯被拥立为君长,国号为"匀吴"。

从泰伯起十九传至寿梦继位称王(公元前585年),吴国始有确切纪年。随着吴国的崛起,梅里的都城已日益不能适应国家发展的需要了,而位于太湖东北岸的苏州,由于自然条件十分优越,交通方便,土地肥沃,物产丰富,人口众多,寿梦二十五年(公元前561年),正式将都城迁至苏州。并经过多年的不断经营,具有相当规模。可是由于史籍没有记载,当时城址已无从查考。自此,当时的苏州称为吴国。

公元前514年,吴王阖闾下令伍子胥督造水陆双棋盘格局的城池,自此,苏州的地理位置沿革致今。公元前522年,秦始皇在吴都城设会稽郡、吴县,自此,当时的苏州称为吴县,或有时称为吴州。公元589年,隋改吴州为苏州(以苏州城西姑苏山得名,苏州的名称始此。另姑苏山由吴王阖闾建姑苏台得名,现山上仍有遗迹)。

园林:拙政园、狮子林、留园、沧浪亭、留园、虎丘

古街:平江路、七里山塘街

古镇:周庄古镇、同里古镇、木渎古镇、甪直古镇

其他:寒山寺、苏州乐园、太湖湿地公园、苏州古运河

现代苏州

苏州工业园区和苏州新区是现代苏州的最好诠释,经过几十年的发展,这里的面貌已经日新月异、焕然一新,无论是白天,还是夜晚,总是透出一股现代化,与古城区形成强烈的反差,仿佛从一个城市来到了另一个城市,从一个时代来到另一个时代,这或许就是在苏州独有的一种体验吧!

金鸡湖景区:魅力金鸡湖、壮观绚丽音乐喷泉和魔幻水幕电影、苏州摩天轮公园

商业中心:李公堤国际风情街、圆融时代广场、观前街、石路商业圈、月光码头

山水苏州

"太湖风光美,精华在吴中"。太湖有72峰,58峰在吴中区,国务院规划的太湖风景区13个,吴中区独占6个。因此,吴中区坐拥三分之二的太湖水域及沿岸众多秀美的山水。同时,因早期的海陆变迁,吴中区境内水网密布,江、河、湖泊众多,20多条骨干河道纵横交错,形成了星罗棋布的水系。

太湖的山不高却绵延不断,穹窿山、石公山、灵岩山、天平山、渔洋山、尧峰山、旺山等,既为城市景观又为城市屏障,同时将太湖地区变成最大最佳的"天然森林氧吧"。

太湖:太湖大风车、太湖公园、太湖大桥

西山景区:金庭西山、缥缈峰、林屋山、石公山、明月湾

东山景区:东山雕花楼、陆巷古村、雨花胜境、启园

光福景区:光福香雪海景区、司徒庙、铜观音寺

穹隆山景区